10 Comments
May 16, 2022Liked by Emily F. Popek

This article that a friend posted on Twitter gave me hope this morning--https://www.washingtonpost.com/lifestyle/2022/05/15/humans-newyork-debate-coach-dicolandrea/

Expand full comment

Emily, in spite of all the terrible news, I have hope that positive change is going to come out of this tumultuous period--like Europe perhaps moving faster on climate change measures to get away from dependence on oil from Russia. And I'm hopeful in daily life, too: My son, who has special needs, celebrated a birthday--got a haircut beforehand and was charming and happy throughout the party, and everyone else was happy too! And he went to school today!

Expand full comment
May 15, 2022Liked by Emily F. Popek

You. The writing you're doing. The way you parent. Your transparency. You. Hope to see you this summer for Dole Whip!

Expand full comment
May 15, 2022Liked by Emily F. Popek

Oh boy, this feels like the hardest time ever to answer this question... I think seeing some of my garden's flowers grow is what I'm coming back to as hopeful.

Expand full comment
author

A tiny thing that’s giving me hope is that my picky eater child is showing some signs of being more open to trying new foods. It’s still very much a challenging thing but it’s so great to see her finding ways to do the work of exploring new things instead of always eating the exact same foods.

Expand full comment