11 Comments
author

For us, this summer is a mix of day camps, a little bit of time off with no planned activities, and one week of sleepaway camp, which I am both VERY EXCITED and VERY NERVOUS about on behalf of my 10yo, who has only done a few sleepovers to date. I work in the public school system, but I'm a 12-month employee, so the only contractual days off in summer are July 4 and Labor Day, plus we get one floating holiday during that time frame.

Our first day camp starts Tuesday - it's just a half day program (very typical for this area, lolsob) so it falls to my husband to look after our daughter during the afternoon while I work. Full disclosure, I totaled up how much we are spending on summer care this year, and it's about equal to two weeks' pay for me, which still doesn't come close to covering the whole summer. It would be WAY WAY MORE except that one four-day camp is completely free (grant-funded!!! it even includes lunch!!) and a couple of outings charge only a nominal fee (supported by the county!!). So I still feel really lucky even while it simultaneously feels like a LOT of money :(

Expand full comment

We have a mixture of day camps and overnight camps. Our 11yo is going away for 12 days next week and our 7yo is going away for a short 5-night camp! She’s only done one sleepover in her life and it was a few days ago so I’m nervous too… still, my work time is cut by hours each day with this new schedule. It’s going to be an interesting summer.

Expand full comment
author

Do you schedule out the whole summer, or do you have down time mixed in? This is the hardest nut for me to crack, I always THINK I want to mix in some down time but usually on Day 2 of no scheduled activities, everyone's going out of their mind with boredom/cabin fever.

Expand full comment

We often take trips to visit grandparents in the summer, so those weeks become our down time. Other than that, I don't intentionally leave weeks free with the kids at home, no... but there's often some kind of built-in down time. Like, the week before school starts, there's rarely a camp option.

Expand full comment
author

I hate the week before school starts SO MUCH. All the pools are closed and we've done all the fun stuff already and it's really busy for me at work and there's just .... NOTHING. I swear someone could make a zillion bucks in my town just offering something fun for kids to do during that week!!

Expand full comment

100%!!!

Expand full comment

I have such a love/hate relationship with summer. From a working parent perspective, it’s a total logistical nightmare in terms of childcare. At the same time, who doesn’t love summer?

We do a hodge podge of day camps in the morning and then have sitter in the afternoons. I’m hoping it gets easier once the kids are older and we have the option of longer camps/overnight camp 🤞

Expand full comment
author

Re: the love/hate relationship: ME TOOOO. I love summer in so many ways but it's so exhausting as a working parent. I want to be the Fun Mom but it's just such a grind running to and fro and not having a more predictable routine (or the ability to be chill about everything). I'm so thrilled about overnight camp but also, IT'S SO EXPENSIVE :( :( :( I hope your summer goes smoothly!

Expand full comment

The overnight camp my daughter is going to is surprisingly cheap!! It's $450 and she's there Sunday through Friday. Our son went to it a couple of times before the pandemic and it was amazing. Feeling very fortunate to have it!!

Expand full comment

That sounds amazing! Would love to have details on that camp.

Expand full comment

Sure! It’s Camp Scully. Near Albany, NY. https://www.campscully.camp/

Expand full comment